7 Things I wish SOMEONE had told me when I was pregnant.

If you are anything like me and finding out you was pregnant was a bit of a surprise then this is for you. Here are 7 things I wish someone had told or warned me about when I was expecting my first baby.

1. Hair … I was told that that I would develop thick healthy hair when I was pregnant.  But you really do develop absolutely gloriously glossy locks that feel volumised and full of life. Shiny and healthy. I absolutely loved my hair when I was pregnant but then once Baby L came along it disappeared. Why didn’t anyone tell me that my hair would fall out??? I don’t mean in clumps (although i did read some horror stories) but literally I would run my hands through it and strands would be coming out. I am now 7 months on and still my hairbrush gets filled with strands of hair. It just gets everywhere. You have been warned. Pregnancy gives you great hair days but your post-pregnancy body gives you many bad hair days 😦 I’m tempted to have another baby just to solve this issue.

2. Wobbly Belly …  I wasn’t naive enough to think that I would get a slim figure straight away but what is it with that wobbly belly after your baby has arrived? It is the strangest sensation. Especially when your midwife is checking to make sure things are going back in the right place. Again it’s took me around 6 months to get back to some form of normality. I tried to lose the weight healthily. But your tummy is never completely the same for some people. Meaning Me. 😦

3. Read … I thought I was pretty well researched when it came to my pregnancy. I knew what was going to happen, every little ache and pain, every sickness symptom. I read almost anything I could get my hands on about Labour and pregnancy but what I didn’t do was read about what to do when the baby arrives. Otherwise you’ll find yourself in the hospital on your first night “in charge” of this gorgeous little baby and wondering how to prepare milk. It’s quite embarrassing but I had no idea that a babies milk needed to be body temperature. I kept wondering why people kept placing his bottle in warm water. I quickly realised what to do when I tried to feed Baby L cold milk straight from the fridge. So embarrassing and now I have shared it with the world. You have to Laugh.

4. After effects … whether you were lucky enough for things to run the way you had planned or ended up with an emergency c-section be prepared for the after effects. There are various different symptoms for different types of births but the one thing I seem to have come across that’s united amongst all delivery methods is the bleeding after. No-one told me I would have to deal with a weeks worth of bleeding. (I apologise if you are reading this whilst eating or consuming a cup of tea) So there you go, by maternity pads, and lots of them. You have been warned 🙂

5. Cabbage … You might be wondering why I have added a vegetable to my list of things people don’t tell you but this was my secret weapon. Shared with me by my lovely midwife. If like me you couldn’t or didn’t want to breastfeed then you still have the period of time when you milk decides to make an arrival. Sore tender breasts that leak. Not the nicest things to have to deal with when it has no where to go. There are many pads you can buy but my little secret weapon, albeit a smelly one, was cabbage leaves. I popped them in the fridge or freezer for an ice cold blast and then placed them on the area inside my bra. Literally got rid of my milk within two days. They were two smelly days that The L’s Papa and myself had to contend with but well worth it. To be honest I thought this would be something I didn’t need to worry about, that my body would some how know the choice that was made but sometimes this is not the case. So this is just a little tip for you if you struggled with it like I did.

6. Sleep Deprivation … So everyone jokes with you about the sleepless nights and you expect them, but nothing quite prepares you for how you’re going to feel. I wish I’d have known that I would try putting baby milk in my tea or put a dirty bib in the bin instead of the washing machine. So I am putting this on my list. If I could give anyone any tip for getting through the sleepless nights it would be to prepare. You need your energy when you have a newborn to deal with so hydrate and eat. A way of preparing yourself would be to get one of the 2 Litre bottles and fill it up everyday with water and keep it close. Your aim would be to get through the bottle each day. I would also definitely recommend that you use your free time before the little one arrives and cook and freeze meals such as lasagne, chilli and pasta bakes. Anything you like. Something that you can pull out and pop in the oven or hob and warm up. It’s the best advice anyone can give you. Energy and hydration is the key.

7. Baby Blues … I was warned about this. But with the whole questionnaire you fill out with your Health Visitor and the conversations you have I certainly felt uncomfortable admitting I had cried or felt I couldn’t cope. What advice I want to pass on is it’s ok. To tell your nearest and dearest if you a feel a little low. It’s not always a post-natal depression sign and that’s what most mothers think. I certainly did. It’s normal to cry. It’s normal to feel overwhelmed. People don’t think any less of you because you’ve had a bad day. You’re sleep deprived and lacking energy, it’s bound to take effect. I honestly felt better after a good cry and a big hug. A hug is a powerful thing.

So I hope you enjoyed my little list of things and the little tips and advice I included. Do you have anything you wish someone had told you when you were pregnant?

The L’s Mum

 

2 thoughts on “7 Things I wish SOMEONE had told me when I was pregnant.

  1. My hair never changed throughout pregnancy 😦 It has always been fine and I had hoped it might thicken up – sadly not. I hope it doesn’t fall out tho. Sorry you are going through that.

    Reading is probably the best advice. I have found that my pregnancy book has been a life saver and comforter.

    • My midwife said to me that some people are lucky enough not to have their hair fall out. It just comes out when you brush it, but thats because it grew so much when I was pregnant. Its mad how it can effect you in different ways. Honestly you are one of the lucky ones 🙂

Leave a Reply

